Taco Meat Alton Brown Style

17 01 2016

Taco Potion #19:
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 1/2 teaspoons hot smoked paprika
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Put all of the ingredients in a small jar and shake to combine. Store in an airtight container for up to 1 month.

Taco Meat:
Alton Brown’s All American Beef Taco recipe calls for 1 pound of ground beef cooked with onions. (I used 2 pounds of ground beef.)  Once the ground beef is browned, add 2/3 cup beef broth per pound of meat plus Taco Potion #19.  Cook until liquid is reduced and thickened.

For the first attempt I left out the cayenne pepper to make sure it wasn’t too spicy for the picky eaters in my house. I plan to try it again with ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper.  Since I used 2 pounds of ground beef and the additional broth, I also added 2 more teaspoons of cornstarch.

Nutritional notes:  Entire recipe contains protein and 10 grams of carbohydrates.

Source:  Original recipes can be found at http://www.altonbrown.com

 


Actions

Information

Leave a comment